Traveller

 

.

.

.

.

.

.

© 2011 John Richter
About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

12 responses to “Traveller

  • claudia

    haha – the strangest things happen in hotel lobbies…smiles…great that i inspired this beautiful poem john…and my room number was 404 by the way…smiles

    • johnallenrichter

      You were in room 404? Oh…. I must have gone to the wrong room. Well that explains why the gal in 215 screamed and hit me over the head with her hair dryer when I woke her her up at 2:30 in the morning, standing over her bed in that darkened hotel room….. naked. And when I saw Larry (the bartender on the shift just before mine) laying next to her, I figured she must have left that note for him before I ever got to the bar that night….. I must have mistakenly thought you left it…… Oh well, the bruises on my head will heal eventually. But damn it, I’ve seen Larry naked now. I can’t go back there Claudia. What am I going to do?

  • Poetry Pastiche

    [I’m opening my mouth, but my speech is only guttural. Words escape me.]

    I’ll just steal yours: “A tiny thatch of dark hair …” That whole sentence was spicy. I was pretty much glued into the magic of mystique from then on. The effect of the shaping was huge and overt, especially the length of her neck … so inviting. Really nice work, John.

    • johnallenrichter

      Incredibly kind words Mrs. Pastiche, thank you! I felt that because I was in a zeal to create the shape of this piece, (the woman’s head,) that I rushed through the prose too quickly, not really giving it the artistic attention it deserved, but instead concentrating on just writing something long enough to fill the shape of the form… So I am really happy that you enjoyed this…. Thank you again…

  • Poetry Pastiche

    John, check this out. I wrote this shaped poem several weeks ago; you might dig it.

    http://poetrypastiche.blogspot.com/2011/09/pregnant-pause_04.html

    • johnallenrichter

      Incredibly lovely….. human. very human and natural feelings of a woman who is going through the most beautiful thing that can affect us in this world, giving life to a piece of us. And I think almost every woman feels the way you described in your poem, something outside the realm of happiness that we expect to be there, that society tells us should be there. “Why did I go through this misery? Why am I not happy like I should be? Why is the world grey when it should be filled with pink and blue and carnivals and clowns and ponies?” What an incredibly lovely feeling, an emotion all too often hidden, tucked away from shame, maybe, I don’t know.. But I know that those are the kinds of feelings, (when I am able to recognize them,) find their way into my poetry as well… I think those emotions are beautiful.. Not morbid, not creepy or sad, Though sure, that can be a part of it sometimes… But there is so much more…. Lovely poem…….

  • Mary

    Amazingly written, John. I have never tried a shape poem. Seems quite a challenge to accomplish.

  • brian

    john this is one fo the most amazing shape poems i think i have ever had the opportunity to read…really this was fabulous….

  • zumpoems

    Amazing. So film noir-ly perfect!

  • Rosemary Nissen-Wade aka SnakyPoet

    What a beautiful write! A lovely prose-poem, every word enthralling. The exquisite shaping is a bonus.

  • Sheila Moore

    this is incredible, John. I love shape poetry (in fact my one and only chapbook so far is full of them and appropriately named “Shaping Time.”) You are a poet after my own heart. So nice to meet you. Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

