Through the Corners

Living in the summer sun
not really seeing it
not really feeling its shine
swimming trunks beneath fatigues
towels around the waist
bricked and cobblestone streets
the schwimmplatz crowded
rolling grassy lawn
young lovers, kissing
German girls feigning
so beautiful

Was that ten years ago
or thirty?
you were there too
weren’t you?
Standing aside
friends forever
Do you remember the sun?
I do now, but not then
I don’t remember it that day
It was so clear and bright
shining our way on that lost day

Playing Frisbee for a while
was really good at it too
could throw it like a mistake
landing next to the sunbathing girls
but it wasn’t a mistake
you would dive and
flex in front of them
they trying not to notice
feigning disinterest
but we saw them
looking through the corners

You met your wife
I saved your life
and met Monika……
I loved her
I loved that summer.

© 2011 John Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

38 responses to “Through the Corners

Leave a Reply

