Repetitions of Lady Tetsu-ko

.

.

Days meander, slide together, bleeding.
They’re all the same anymore.
The sun rises and they disappear,
the stars awash in the sunlight.
Like all the parts of my life,
the bleeding parts,
they come out when I’m in the dark,
alone, afraid and just tired of them.
The bleeding parts.
My life, my love.
I am nothing, nothing
without you.

Without you,
I am nothing, nothing,
my Life, my love,
the bleeding parts.
Alone, afraid and just tired of them,
they come out when I’m in the dark.
The bleeding parts.
Like all the parts of my life,
the stars awash in the sunlight,
the sun rises and they disappear.
They’re all the same anymore,
days meander, slide together, bleeding.

.

.

“If I know what love is, it is because of you.”

– Hermann Hesse (1877-1962) Swiss Novelist, Poet

© 2011 John Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

8 responses to “Repetitions of Lady Tetsu-ko

  • Mama Zen

    This is a truly lovely and moving piece. Well done.

  • Mary

    John, I beg to differ with you. You are someone, with or without someone else! Please know that your importance is not tied to the connection with someone else. You are important in your own rite!

  • claudia

    think we all carry these wounded parts with us and in dark times…they start bleeding again…reminded me of the bible quote when two people become one, you just can’t tear them apart without damaging both of them…love the hermann hesse quote..

  • zongrik

    it’s horrible living thinking you are nothing one your own.

  • Heaven

    this reminds me of my parent’s love for this each other… am deeply touched by this lovely words ~

  • Shawna

    Great opening/closing line: “Days meander, slide together, bleeding.” I really enjoy your quotes at the end of your poems.

    Since no one mentioned it, I’ll point out your craftiness in building the poem up in the first stanza and then breaking it back down in the second, reversing line order. Unbelievable. I could never do that!

  • willowdot21

    John I agree with Shawna above it was very clever of you to do what you did and in only two verses I have attempted that but never perfected it . I had to read the first four lines twice before I fully understood, perhaps I am a tad thick!! But remember” love lies bleeding” but we do stand alone in our own right be strong and believe in yourself.

Leave a Reply

