Frozen Tears

It was just a small corner…..
a tear fell upon its shine.
Her coffin gleamed the winter warmer
on this coldest day of mine.
 
Her breadth was not a burden,
Mother never was.
Her life ended so sudden,
and off to Heaven because…
 
I don’t know…..
 
But I listened to the priest,
though I can’t remember his face.
Eternal bliss and happiness,
and always a better place.
 
And while his words ran me through,
as the sun and snow played peek-a-boo,
and angels sang their chorus too,
life’s beginning began anew….
 
I found my gaze upon that tear,
it suddenly became quite clear:
Now frozen solid against her cask
just a mar within life’s new task.
 
That I should live for her,
and her for our tears.
And as love may ever occur,
She shines through out the years…

 

 

 

 

 

 

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

7 responses to “Frozen Tears

  • Claudia

    beautiful sentiment for your mother here…i esp. love the comfort that lies in these lines and life’s beginning began anew even in the face of death… hey…long time no see… would be cool if you’d pop into the dVerse pub again for a drink and a chat…smiles

  • Mary

    So much feeling in this poem, and the missing is evident. Sounds like the death was sudden, unexpected. Hard to listen to words of ‘a better place’ in the midst of one’s grief! Strong writing, John.

  • willowdot21

    Truly beautiful John, have you just lost your Mum or is this a poem long cherished in your soul. Either way you have caught all the feelings I felt at my Mum’s funeral. The beauty of your love shines through. Thank you for sharing , and thank your Mum for who you are. xxx

  • Margaret

    … that I should live… So sweet this poem. Every mother wants their child to TRULY live. She is smiling as she watches… 🙂

  • Victoria C. Slotto

    So touching, John. I still have my mother (at 92) and I can’t imagine how it will be. The beauty in nature magnifies loss and the meaning of life, doesn’t it?

  • ManicDdaily

    Very pretty and sad poem, John. Also very musical. k.

  • Sharp Little Pencil

    John, thanks for stopping by my blog, and thank you for this elegy for your mom. There are no words to say how I miss mine, even after 20+ years, but folks live on, you know, in the stories we tell, in the poems we write, in the moments we relive with those who knew them well. Hope this brings you comfort. Like I said, 20+ years and it could have been yesterday, so I’m crying now, but it’s a good cry. Bless you for this! Amy

Leave a Reply

