Tennessee Sparrow

A Tennessee Sparrow in the trees
Singing her sweet melodies
Loving life’s memories
Little things like these

A coal miner’s daughter
Cold nights, laying next to Mama,
Papa’s drillin’ holes
in the deep belows
Only the Moon knows – her drama

And on she grew
while life circled her feet
The Moon came too
Made her love complete

Now a child rests her head
Listens to the sparrow sing
A song of Life, she said,
“My Mama’s everything…”

Heavens Gates: Open!
Release the doves!
Life’s not about her
It’s about who she loves

So when you hear the sparrows’ song
and you feel like singing along
and your heart feels like it belongs
To a Tennessee so strong…

Love her.
For that is what she is.

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

9 responses to “Tennessee Sparrow

  • wolfsrosebud

    what a story teller you are… lovely

  • Kellie Elmore

    You reminded me of my grandma and the way she used to sing while cooking. Gospel songs. and the way she spoke of her “mama”. Thank you for that… so much! ♥

  • ManicDdaily

    A very pretty subtle poem – just lovely. k.

  • Victoria C. Slotto

    This is so gentle. You’ve told the story of life in a few lines. I went to undergrad school in a mining coal community (Scranton, PA) and you’ve captured the sensibilities of that culture, it seems to me.

  • Laurie Kolp

    This is like a song, too… and I love your tender message of love.

  • ManicDdaily

    I read already but so lovely to come back too – such a song. k.

  • johnallenrichter

    All, I recently have been on vacation down in Florida to visit my son’s family. There was a hurricane problem and we had to cut our trip short by one day. So I travelled over to Memphis to visit Graceland, the famed mansion and museum of Elvis Presley. Something to do, I guess. While returning to Kentucky from there we stopped at Loretta Lynn’s ranch and museum. Loretta is not quite as well known as Elvis. And the differences between Elvis and Loretta are like night and day. Elvis was flashy, the center of attention, and Loretta was a mom, a lover, and a friend to so many. It might be due to the fact that Elvis died before his museum was created (by his wife Priscilla.) And Loretta is still alive and I’m sure had a big hand in creating her own museum. But the walls of Elvis’ museum are filled with his accomplishments and his flashy lifestyle, while the walls of Loretta’s ranch are filled with the stories and photos of the people who have been in her life and whom she loves most dearly. As my poem says “Life’s not about her, it’s about those she loves.” And I got to thinking about that….. And so Laurie, I think you’re absolutely right: this little jewell, this little neck of woods down in the hollows of Tennessee, is all about love.

    Thanks for visiting all…….

Leave a Reply

