A Song For Who I Used to be…

 

A Song For Who I used to Be
(when you were with me)

Memories so far away
distance keeps our lives at bay.

At sixteen years lived a boy in me,
who died yesterday.
And your eyes –
Slowly fade Away –
Away from yesterday.

How long can a memory last?
Longer than your heartfelt grasp
How strong can a memory be?
When your eyes were looking at me?

A different world sings a different song.
A different time and my life seems gone.

After sixteen –
I don’t –
belong.

At sixteen years lived a boy in me,
who died yesterday.
And your eyes –
Slowly fade Away –
Away from yesterday.

.

.

090812_0400_ACloudorTwo2.jpg

Every time I tried to tell you

The words just came out wrong

So I had to say I love you

In a song.

-Jim Croce

090812_0400_ACloudorTwo2.jpg

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

3 responses to “A Song For Who I Used to be…

Leave a Reply

