Consequence

Consequence is gonna’ find you
It doesn’t matter what you try to do
One thing for sure it’ll always be true
Cuz consequence
……………… will find you

In the morning when you put on your shoes
and you’re wonderin’ who you’re gonna’ screw
Consequence is on its way to you
Consequence
……………… will find you

In this world there’s so much to do
You can love or hate a Jew
Start a Holocaust or two
Cuz consequence
……………… will find you

So loose the belt and lose the hate
Let your love start to concentrate
Show the world a most wonderful fate
And consequence
……………… will love you

Life’s too short and don’t think I’m wrong
Don’t get confused and think it’s long
Cuz before you know it’ll be gone
And consequence
……………… will find you

It doesn’t matter what you try to do
One thing for sure it’ll always be true
Cuz consequence
……………… will find you
……………you
…………you
….Find you

.
.
.

© 2013 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

5 responses to “Consequence

  • ramblingsfromamum

    Oh John, now I have an ear worm of ‘find you find you’. Not sure what to make of this, my ‘reading’ into what a writer writes is not well… probably not rated very high. All I can say is, that I did enjoy both the audio and the words, you certainly come up with original ideas on how to display your talent. 🙂

    • johnallenrichter

      Thanks for stopping by Jenn… and being so kind. In fact I think your kindness is what precludes you from finding my intention in this poem. Not surprising to me at all…. Angels do not live in a world of filth.

      Did you ever see the movie “Exorcist?” And the part where the priest is speaking to the demon inside the little girl, but not the little girl herself? Or one of those pest control gadgets that emit a sound frequency that only bugs can hear? That’s kind of what the intention of this poem is, at least to me. As I get on in years it is becoming more and more apparent to me that the endearing joy of life and brotherhood once felt in our society is seriously deteriorating. I can’t speak for the feelings in Australia, as I have never been. But here in my country I feel as too many people use crutches in order to justify hatred and a general malaise. Everything is business. It can be as simple as a used car salesman unloading a piece of crap car on an unsuspecting kid, while in the back of his mind justifying that because of the kid’s ignorance. Or a top American oil company CEO who received a 97 million dollar salary and acts as though he – or any person in this world – in God’s name – can possibly deserve that kind of salary. The average American is having trouble putting food on the table and oil companies – (three in our country – monopolized through collusion of noticing their neighbor’s prices on billboards on every other corner) are charging outrageous prices and making insanely evil profits.

      In this poem I used the most heinous example of evil that I know of, Holocaust. But it could be as simple as someone accepting too much change from the kid running the cash register at McDonald’s and not returning it. For so many years I was confused on how or why people could be so cruel or evil and yet feel justified in themselves. But then I remembered my parents philosophy, which is simply “You know what you did. And you will be held accountable for that someday.” We can’t be the world’s policeman, but God can. This poem is just a simple reminder for those people – set in a frequency intended only for them – that life is short and that someday we will reap whatever we sew…..

      • ramblingsfromamum

        smiled at the Angel my friend. Yes, I have vivid horrid memories of the Exorcist as it was a wintry cold night and coming home with the trees brushing against me …well scared the *crap* out of me to be honest…. see I am not as Angelic as you thought now am I? 🙂 Fortunately we do not live as others in our neighbouring lands do, we do have the greed, and some monopolisation, but as a country we are fortunate that we don’t – or should I say that is hasn’t taken such a hold over us. What can I say… I do not want to upset my American friends, but there are many *attitudes* over there that are slowly infiltrating over here, and not in a good way. Your parents gave sage advice. I think the generation we have currently will have a lot to answer for. Certainly life is changing all around us and not for the better sadly. I do understand what and why you wrote it now and I thank you for your explanation. Not many that I follow and comment on bother to explain as you have. I hope I haven’t upset anyone with what I have written… I’m an Aussie and we have the propensity to just *blurt* 🙂

      • johnallenrichter

        Hi again Jenn…. As always of course I believe the poet’s intention is not paramount, but the viewer who defines the art…. All I can do is hammer away in my own little world, spewing out the words given to me. Please forgive my style Jenn. In no way have you ever upset me, and in fact I am most pleased to have your acquantance. I have only found your poetry to be intensely artistic and in no way abrasive…. I apologize if my own poem here made you think otherwise… But if while reading my poem above you did indeed have a little momentary twinge of guilt, or perhaps a little Angel on your shoulder giving you a reason to stop and think for a moment, then my intended message of the art came to life! Although please know the poem was in no way directed at you, dear, kind poet….

  • thaygoulart

    This came from your heart, I can tell. Thank you for making me think after reading this.

Leave a Reply

