Lost and Never Found

Just watched a really good movie called Chrystal, starring Billy Bob Thornton and with the most wonderful sound track music I have heard in a very long time.  It inspired me to write the following song, which  I have not been able to name….  Suggestions anyone? (The last line was borrowed from one of the songs in the movie)

….submitted to dversepoets.com “Open Link Night” making Tuesday nights funner than, well, some Monday nights… Hope you can join us…

Death’s been knockin’
and I’ve been gone.
She’s been wond’rin where I could be.
This world’s been long
and I’ve been wrong
So I won’t hide from thee

Now listen sweet Death,
and hear my song,
open your heart
and sing along
I’ll promise you gardens
you’ve never seen
then you’ll know
where I have been.

Over that hill
lies a mystery
My love, she’s gone
forever you see.
Her beauty too vast
and her heart too strong,
Only dear God knew
she would’nt last long.

So you see sweet death
I’m honest and true
And in the morning
I’ll go with you,
but tonight I think
I’m gonna stay
by the side of
my sweet baby’s grave..
………………..

And I ain’t got no sugar baby now…

.
.
.

Claudia is tonight’s host.  In the spirit of her ensemble, you can follow this link to get a taste of good ol’ American bluegrass…  This song is the opening song from the movie mentioned above and was written and sung by Roscoe Holcomb, “Moonshiner” …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppMiEbwhVwk

© 2013 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

15 responses to “Lost and Never Found

  • ambroseanthonythompson

    I like the title, made me smile then become sad.

  • Lynne Callahan

    death’s been knocking?? pretty good

  • ramblingsfromamum

    Sweet Baby…Sweet Baby’s Grave… um err… No time for death… Staying till my time…. that’s it I can’t think 🙂 Did enjoy the song though John – when you got into the humming part I pictured plantations…don;t ask me why – being in Australia we don’t really have them. 🙂

    • johnallenrichter

      This movie was filled to the brim with some very strong and beautiful a Capella bluegrass music. It inspired me immediately to write this song. And please remember I am a writer, not a singer… I record my voice only to present the tempo of the music going through my head….. I apologize for the garish nature of my voice….

      And the topic death is also something that maybe needs to be apologized for, but frankly I wouldn’t understand why. I’m guessing that my own view of death must be different from normal people’s view of it. I am not afraid of death, nor do I view it as a black cloud as I fear most people do. I see it as the exact same respect as birth, in fact with even more appreciation than birth.

      Birth is being born into a world that we really didn’t ask to be born into. And while here we are scrutinized every second of every day, and one small slip up could send us into an eternal lake of fire…. I don’t know, is that a little pressure?

      To me life is like the exams and quizzes our grade school teachers used to love giving us on Friday afternoons. Only in life it’s God giving us the exams, not teachers. Every day through out the week the teachers would remind you “There will be a test on this on Friday!” Well by the time Friday came around our little stomachs were just tied in knots and we were absolutely sick with worry about that exam! But sure enough the exam would come and go and we would then realize it really wasn’t that bad. We’d lose all that anxiety, the final bell would ring and we would then get to go home for the weekend and play –

      You know guys, death is just a Friday afternoon when the final bell rings. We get to go home and lose all of our worries. And although I hate losing family members and friends to death, I must say that death is the most wonderful part of our lives – not the worst. So if I must apologize for anything, then it will only be for the possibility that we don’t view death the same way….

      But thanks one and all for visiting and roughing through another of my mind’s creations… Especially you Jenn. Don’t think of plantations… Though this film and bluegrass music in general is considered southern, the depressed economy of the Ozark mountain area in Arkansas (which is the focal point of the movie and where I lived myself during the first several years of my early twenties) is probably more akin to every sheep farming family you may have ever known. It is nothing like “Gone with the Wind.” In fact in my opinion the movie “Chrystal” is the most exact representation of this area I have ever seen. The movie’s main actor, Billy Bob Thornton, was born and raised only 25 miles from where I lived down there.

      Here is a link to the opening song of the movie, “Moonshiners,” sung a Capella by Roscoe Holcomb probably from sometime around the 50s or 60s.



  • willowdot21

    I liked this John and it felt so strong. How about Sweet Death I’ll go with you.

  • ramblingsfromamum

    Thanks for the clip – I see where you got the inspiration from. Since I have set my sights on becoming a Funeral Civil Celebrant, I look at death differently, also the fact that I believe in life after. Naturally when it comes to my family and loved ones the grieving process will take place, but if you look at as a whole – as a process – the circle of life, it doesn’t seem that daunting. The music was quite haunting in this video – thanks for the share and the explanation.

  • brian miller

    dang man….first…so very lyrical…put it to a nice chord and sing that one…and to lose ones love…how hard…even enough that we would put off our death or death when i comes for just one more moment…

  • charliezero1.wordpress.com

    Your words are very lyrical and passionate writer that you truly are.

    Mind blowing poem my friend. 🙂

  • Laurie Kolp

    Awesome. How’s this for a title- By the side of
    My Sweet Baby’s Grave

  • Audrey Howitt

    Loved this –Death comes a knocking–is really a great title—This really is a gorgeous write

  • Mary

    John, this is very poignant. Death comes as it comes, very hard for those left behind…….but they will join soon enough!!

  • MarinaSofia

    Excellent blues song – very melodic. Not the best idea for a title, but the one I thought of was ‘When Death Came Knocking, I Was Out’.

  • ayala

    Poignant and beautiful. I love this, John.

  • Pamela

    Beautifully lyrical poem, John. And I want to thank you for the in depth comment at my place.

    Pamela

  • Beth Winter

    Very lyrical. I like that in the poem, you defied death. It has been a theme of my poetry lately, primarily from the grief point of view. I need to challenge it instead of wallow. Well written.

Leave a Reply

