The morning goes
The mirror shows
An older face
In wrinkled woes

An empty space
Behind those eyes
A memory’s place
Where she resides

Forever more
Life subsides
For a Heaven once found
in her eyes.

A spackled edge
Of scattered tears
Memories remain
Of shattered years

Death shall beckon
As my only chance
To find her again
In eternity’s dance.

Wait my dear
I shant be long
We’ll soon be near
Where love belongs.

Good bye for now
My true heart
Absence makes no man
This life to part.

And I shall love you
Until…..
the land and seas
Come apart.

© 2013 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

6 responses to “

  • Mary

    This is painted with a soft brush. Very touching, John!

  • willowdot21

    This so beautifully haunting!

  • Mira Jay

    Nicely knitted..

    Peace & Light

  • ramblingsfromamum

    knowing the love of one who is now longer here and beckoning her to wait for you to join… sadness but beauty in these lines John.

  • ayala

    Gorgeous poem, John. I love it.

  • johnallenrichter

    Thank you friends for stopping by… It makes me really happy. I apologize for my current lack of attention and want you to know that I value you very much. There is little else in life that I find as satisfying and enjoyable as spending it with you, my very special friends endowed with the same quest for this great passion of poetry. Currently I am involved in a great deal of research involving a book I wish to write. The dilemma is finding my nitch, something I am discovering is quite frustrating.

    Anyway I just wanted to mention that my last untitled poem was given a feminine subject – but it wasn’t written for a spouse necessarily. Someone on Facebook called me “ignorant” today and it made me realize that I really am ignorant. There’s so many things about life that I am just not aware of or have no knowledge of. I follow my interests and pretty much am limited to knowledge about just those limited things.

    But there is one absolute thing that I know and my heart is absolutely convinced of it: the most wonderful thing we experience in life is sharing our hearts and love with others. And at the end of life I think it is truly the only thing that will have mattered. In fact I believe the reason deity put us in this life is that we can learn to love. There truly is nothing else.

    I don’t know why I did not title this poem. I think maybe subconsciously I feel that losing those people we love can be so horrendously overwhelming that simple words can not possibly express the depth of that emotion. I don’t know.

    Many people consider the notion of death in poetry or any other form of art as morbidity or associate it with something terrible or bad. As a fan of Stephen King I can assure you that he often uses death to scare the bejeebies out of his readers. But in real life and outside the boundaries of fiction or horror death is really no different than birth. Between those two points is an opportunity to find, offer, and accept the true love that we are uniquely endowed with on this planet. Even Atheists love.

    Death to me is simply the end of that journey. As birth is simply the beginning. And because love is not the only thing in this world I am actually glad death exists. Picking up the newspaper on any given day might explain that belief, or not even to mention the number of people in our lives whom we have loved and lost. We must also endure some of the most despicable, hateful acts on this earth every day. I am not overly eager to die, because I know that I am here for reason just as I know that God creates these poems, not me. But I do not dread my final day and will gladly accept relief from this truly hateful world and enter into another where only love, and those whom I have shared with, exist.

Leave a Reply

