Surviving

Sadness, tears, yesteryears,
missing long ago teddy bears.
Simpler times, simpler cares.
Life was love,
….. and Love
was a chocolate ice cream cone.

When did love become desire?
Her everything capturing me so?
Her scent now gone to memory,
her abscence only misery.
Yet my heart now pleads
for simpler times, before ago….

I want, I wish for a chocolate cone,
one as sweet as that dripping on my years.
But nigh, it shall never come.
She took my chocolate cones away……
And all the sweetness from my surviving days…

.

© 2014 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

