My Darling

In times like these
a man gets lonely.
his thoughts roam home
and to his family.
So yesterday I wrote one last note
to my dear sweet darling.

I told her of my love for Tenessee
and how her sweet love means everything to me,
she’s the most beautiful thing I ever did see,
and when I get home I’ll surely be
a man who makes her love worthy.

Now it’s sure a beautiful day
but there’s blood in the sun.
The Union’s got us cornered
and we’re on the run.
I see my name in the clouds
and just know that I’m done.

Lord when times were tough
I was always there for you.
When others failed
I pulled right through
and now I’m asking
this simple thing of you, dear Lord.

If you could please find it in your heart,
Then I’d offer this life and gladly part,
If you could just see that the last of what I am
is not seen by her in some cold telegram.

Can you tell her of my love for Tennessee?
And how her sweet love means everything to me?
That’s she’s the prettiest thing I ever did see?
And if I’d a got home I’d have surely been
a man who always made her love worthy?

Lord, please don’t let me down.
I’ll give you this life on this sacred ground,
If you’d just let my sweet darlin know
that she’s the prettiest thing I’ve ever known…
.
.
© 2014 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

One response to “My Darling

Leave a Reply

