Gonna Head to Tennessee

He’s pushin’ up trees,
he’s pushin’ up trees.
Oh baby, that revenuer
he’s pushin’ up trees.

Gonna slap on a hat,
gonna pack on a bag,
gonna slip out the back,
gonna hop on the track.
Gonna make our way
down to Tennessee,
gonna make some whiskey,
for you and me.

Gonna look at the corn,
growin all down there,
sweeter than sugar,
everywhere.
gonna make some whiskey
for you and me.
Baby we gonna head
down to Tennessee.

Gonna get a little shack,
gonna sell it out the back,
gonna sell it down the road
in a great big load.

Then one day,
the revenuer come,
got real nervous,
pulled out his gun.
I opened my door,
give him what for,
then that revenuer
just hit the floor.

He’s pushin’ up trees,
for you and me.
Baby that revenuer
He’s pushin’ up trees.

Gonna slap on a hat,
gonna pack on a bag,
gonna slip out the back,
gonna hop on the track.
Gonna make our way
down to Tennessee,
gonna make some whiskey,
for you and me.
.
.
© 2014 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

2 responses to “Gonna Head to Tennessee

Leave a Reply

