Hatred

“If you don’t have something nice to say about someone, then don’t say anything at all.”  I can still hear these words reverberating from my mother’s mouth on just about any given day she was alive.  And I have followed her very simple rule almost religiously through out my own life.

It’s a good rule, for the most part.  God doesn’t want us slamming each other.  I’m sure of that.  So I keep my mouth shut, even when others around me act like juveniles and throw colossal rumors and innuendos about people constantly.

And today I’m not going to say things “about” anyone either.  Instead I’ll be saying these things directly to all people:

Life is fleeting.  Use it to affect the greatest change you can.  Never, Never use one ounce of energy in any kind of attempt to hurt another of God’s children.  God will repay you tenfold for whatever you do.

I think you use “good works” to justify your hatred of others.  But it’s not a trade-off.  Going to church on Sunday doesn’t erase your sins.  Nor does mentioning “God” empty your spiritual trash bin.  Absolution comes only from change, friend, nothing else.  Giving a present to an orphan at Christmas doesn’t make you Mother Theresa.  Nor does it absolve your responsibility to all of God’s other children.

Point in short:  Never justify trying to hurt someone else.  Your vision of superiority to those people is blinding you.  What did the Lord say?  “He who is the greatest on earth will be the least in Heaven?”  Do you think you are so much greater than any other person that it seems OK to hurt him or her?  If so then you should closely examine your relationship with God.

And apologize.  But not to me.  I am still John, even after the monumental attacks and stumbling blocks you have placed in my path.  I am still going to Heaven.  Nothing you have done to me or said about me has hurt me in any way.  Those things have only hurt God.  He has asked me to forgive and love you, which I have already done.  So your apologies need to be to Him.

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

One response to “Hatred

  • Audrey Howitt

    John this makes me smile a bit–if we can’t be authentic in our lives, then I don’t know that we are truly alive–and I, I think like you, don’t think that we have to be cruel to be authentic. Just my two cents

Leave a Reply

