I Caught an Angel

When I saw her standing there
all alone in the night
all the boys were hootin and hollerin
and the girls were looking right
It looked like she had a halo
coming from the firelight
so I walked on over and took her hand
and knew she was mine that night.

I caught an angel.
I caught an angel,
deep inside the firelight.

I never knew that angels had
hair as black as coal.
I didn’t know their eyes so blue
made my spine shiver cold.
I never knew they’d sing to me
the songs of my soul.
I never knew they’d touch my heart
in ways I didn’t know.

I caught an angel.
I caught an angel,
deep inside the firelight.

Now if you ever meet an angel
callin’ herself Mary Jean,
Chances are pretty good
that you’ll know what I mean.
If she’s standing in the firelight
then give her this one for me.
Mary Jean, Mary Jean, Mary Jean.

Now I don’t know what
the limit is
on angels these days.
But I bagged that one
pretty good and
then let her get away.
I promised myself
if I found her again
I’d have this to say:
Mary Jean, Mary Jean, Mary Jean.

When I saw her standing there
all alone in the night
all the boys were hootin and hollerin
and the girls were looking right
It looked like she had a halo
coming from the firelight
so I walked on over and took her hand
and knew she was mine that night.

I caught an angel.
I caught an angel,
deep inside the firelight.

.
.
© 2014 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

One response to “I Caught an Angel

Leave a Reply

