Desert Storms

This poem refers to many things in our world today, but most notably the acts of terrorism that we have been subjected to.  To me there is nothing more sinister than the conglomerate hatred that must be in place before someone sets in motion a plan to kill or hurt other people.  I don’t understand that about man’s nature. 

On 9/11 I sat in my living room and through tears watched the towers in NYC fall.  The only thought on my mind that day and since is “why?”  Why did you terrorists do that?  What was your goal?  Did those 3,000+ people in the towers do something to harm you, or to disgrace you?  What was their sin that you felt their lives deserved to be taken for it?

I will only believe that you were  looking to shed blood for the sake of shedding blood.  That has no redeeming quality what so ever.  And so terrorists around the world should know that we, your victims, are part of man too, with the same instincts, the same desires as you.   Do not be surprised when we find you.

Desert Storms

The desert storm is not of cloud,
nor thunder, nor loud.
Its wall of sand comes
at speeds of yesterday into today.
My body only in its way
ripping flesh in the fray.
Kneeling now, nothing but bones scarred.
Resting amidst the charred tears of tomorrow..

What will lay the sand calm?
More than my bones can weep.
It will not cease
before the tears of us all
will fall……

Tearless, dusty bones can not cry.
Destined only to wonder why…
Will tomorrow bring
another storm………
But I no longer wonder
what tears feel…..
For they only burn my bones.
.
.
© 2014 John Allen Richter

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

