I’m a Child

 

I am a child,
have been all the while.
You, were a girl,
Heaven in the world.
We were gonna be,
something to see.
Life took a turn,
wind began to burn.
Melting eyes upon us,
graying skies now dawn us.
And Earth cries her song,
and we all join along.

Where has the love gone,
where is the love?
Why has the love gone,
why am I alone……
You are the answer,
so I don’t want to know,
I just want to go.

I keep my eyes straight down now,
watching crawling things.
You cast your spell around me,
pull your puppet strings,
Your grand plan is unfolding,
the sorrow sure does sting.
You’re very good at hating,
do you know what I mean?
I’ve lain here in my quiet,
While your lion roared.
Soaking up his sadness,
crying on the floor.
I’ve picked up all the pieces,
shoved them in my heart,
And i will carry them with me
Until I see you in the dark.

That’s when I’ll give them back.

Where has the love gone,
where is the love?

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

