The Loveliest Day

Young boy, young man,
heart always at play….
Young heart, young love, til end,
but a stone’s throw away.

Skip, little rock,
across the water’s way.
skip to the other side,
on this longest,
loveliest day.
Carry my heart along the way.

Until I be old, and lonely,
and unable to say,
what wonders your love
brought my way –
on this,
the loveliest day.

Promises? To keep?
To be lost or swept away?
I promise only this;
love shall always live in my heart.
You are welcome a day –
or eternity…
Whatever measure,
your own.
Mine will always be –
the loveliest day.

.
..
....
.......
..........
...............
.........................
© 2014 John Allen Richter
.........................
About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

