Moon Light Ride

The brown tipped grass peeked through the snow –
With stems quite cold and forlorn.
The north gale came and so winds did blow
and nodded their heads in form.

As for I, a moonlit ride –
on my horse, steady and slow.
With her cold and shivering skin below –
I said “Not much further to go.”

She low’r’d her head, and back again,
to ring her bridle bell.
As if to say “Why dear friend,
did you put us in winter’s hell?”

“Well, ol’ nag, it’s like this, you see…
for forty nights I’ve been alone.
And down the creekbed lives Miss Weatherby,
and I’d like to kiss her some.”

Just on que the old nag said squarely,
“Twenty miles in a blizzard storm?
To get something that finds you rarely
when beautiful weather’s the norm?”

“Just my luck,” I said with disdain,
“To have such a cyncical horse.”
But wondered if I could be insane,
for talking to a horse of course!

Naw, no, I should ever think not.
For my ears wouldn’t give such slack.
For if I were insane,
…..I think it would be plain,
That my horse wouldn’t answer back.

“I’ll ask you to quiet down, Nellie,
because we’re almost there.
Miss Weatherby’s a cheeky sort,
who’ll spook and run on a scare.”

Nellie laughed and said with a thrill –
“So you think I’d be the source?
Well, my friend, better check again.
You’re the one talking to a horse.”

.
.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2014 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

2 responses to “Moon Light Ride

Leave a Reply

