My Heavens

If Heaven’s path were made for one
and nere choice but to walk alone
then I wonder what should become
of my absence in God’s lovely home…

For surely I would stop on the path
to admire the birds and bees…
and dance within the machair fields
among cattails and other weeds…

Certain I’d climb the aiten bush-
soft tendrils caressing me…
I should fancy not to be in a rush –
so then climb the cherry trees.

Then on down to find the pond,
feed all the ducks in a row,
and hope that I brought along
my trusty fishing pole.

Sure to pass the basketball hoop,
where I’d want to shoot a few,
and hope Heaven’s path is a loop,
so I can do it all with you.

For if your house is on the way,
Then I’d never find dear Heaven.
As we would hold hands all the day,
and eat cookies from your oven.

And I’d kiss your cheek and declare my love,
for all of God’s eternity.
Heaven can wait – so what if I’m late?
I’d rather spend it with thee…
For without you there, t’would be quite contrare –
as Heaven would not Heaven be.

.
.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2014 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

One response to “My Heavens

Leave a Reply

