Mr. Sparrow

Oh Mr. Sparrow, your song preceeds you so –
the uproar from your belly –
should find such pleasantness near.
My ears do swallow it whole –
thy lovely little cacophony –
meistro – please not to fear –
nor send alarm to neighbor’s ear.
for ’tis only I, to overhear
….. your song so very dear.

And if I could then surely would –
capture it in my jar…
and take it to my lonely place,
so very, very far.
And open it slowly, on another day –
when life offers less,
’tis then should I smile away –
while hearing your happiness….

.
.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

3 responses to “Mr. Sparrow

  • willowdot21

    I love the Robin’s song too.

    • johnallenrichter

      Ha ! – I think you know that I mistakenly titled it first ‘Mr. Robbin.’ Before writing this poem I set my mind to the birds common to the Midwest states where I grew up. The Robin is certainly a prevalent bird – feisty and willing to protect its turf and young – Even against the large and precarious blackbirds found here. But the Sparrow has the most beautiful song of all Midwestern birds. As a boy I would sit on our back covered porch and whistle to them. I liked to think they were whistling back to me. Most of the time when I thought they were ‘whistling back’ – they would throw out a high pitched note that slowly faded to a lower octave, and then several short warbles. I’ve come to believe that is their alarm call to let their mate know there is danger in the area. I made mention of that in the poem. The wonderful thing about life, Willow, is that there are parts of it you get to keep forever. Sadly, so is the worst part of life. Poetry is such a vast mixture of the two, do you think?

      • willowdot21

        yes John I do the good and bad times get mixed up in my poetry all the time. We have very similar birds to you here in Southern England. Blackbirds a plenty, sparrows and duunocks, wrens, thrushes and even a silver song thrush, starlings, crows Jays amd Magpies I could go on but then i would have to wake you up! Have a good day Jojn!! xx

Leave a Reply

