Odd Little Man

The world didn’t stop – street lamp glowing –
throwing – hues of light upon the corner’s darkness.
Walked I – walked I – right on by –
lest the man say “You there, odd little man –
with odd little head – why do you walk so fast?”
Fast walk I, walk I, said I,
that in my stare step world
I should get on past – lest I
not see my footprints further.
To let me know I was here,
that something lived and I
did see the hues of the street lamp –
who didn’t cry itself to sleep,
but as I walked by I said softly
“you deserve to be loved.”
Nothing more than glowing cherry-red
footprints to show his existence now –
To know that once the warmth of his
hue made me feel real – something
other than odd little man –
with odd little head –
something other than just he
who nods gracefully, loviningly,
to those cruel others not even worthy
to light the lamp….
The beautiful, loving lamp.
And I hide in the shadows
until they leave or until
I lay down in his hue –
soaking up his radiance –
pretending it is my own….
and for just a moment –
I become normal.
Famine stricken,
ravishing love,
leaving dabs of cherry red glowing footprints
so I can find normalcy again tomorrow.
Will you hold my hand and come with me?
You make me feel normal.

.
.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

