Prim and Proper Buts and Participles

I think it shall be called –
How to make a poem float,
by the incomparable and always
dry – master of ceremonies.

Float, float, poem,
when I let you go down the stream…
flurry your seams with resin
as you dodge chunks of misused grammar
and scopes from submarines.

Submarines, submarines,
always on the prowl –
always checking for those prim
and proper participles…
always sifting through
rhododendrons on the murky
river floor….  Dying, of
course.  Too much water
for them, just moist to the
touch – when not covered in
several tons of carp waste..
You thought I said crap-waste,
didn’t you?  Dirty little
peeping eyes…

“Rhododendrons don’t live in water,”
nor do they concur with proper
nouns and adjectives –
itself’s very spelling a mystery to the rules.
“The poem can not float!”
“The poem can not float!”
Screamed the ring master…
“Remember your rules of threes!”
but can only remember Sister Collette
trying to beat them into me.
“One! Two! Three!
You little rule breaking bastard!”
“Listen boy or your poems will never float!”

But dead rhododendron leaves
replaces rules of threes.
That’s why I sighed, and cackled loudly,
when I threw them in the river.
They make my my poems float.
With all their ‘wuzzins’ and reasons
to start sentences with “But…”
and made-up words that can sometimes –
tickle imaginations…

And apostrophes don’t count –
when you only hear them –
because they sigh very quietly.
And rhododendrons are much prettier…
than they spell.
You thought I was going to say –
smell – didn’t you?
Silly peeping eyes –
you can’t smell them under water…

Float little poem, float.
But I can’t.
But you will.
But I shouldn’t.
But, and yet, you will.
Float, float, poem… Please?

Psssstttt….  You’re making me look bad…

.
.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

One response to “Prim and Proper Buts and Participles

Leave a Reply

