Coffin Lid

Midnight falls on everyone.
Graves are full by morning sun.
Stars that sprinkle – headstone shine
– on you.

Fingernails so perfect red
Lip gloss dripping from your head
Toes that blacken when you’re dead
Scratching, scratching –
Coffin Lid

Dancing shoes in the corner now
Dreams and hopes forlorn us now
Screaming eyes – put to rest
Hoping that our souls are blessed
Hoping that we passed the test

Morning sun,
Morning sun,
Has come.
Graveyard quiet.
Scratching done.

Goodbye.

.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

3 responses to “Coffin Lid

  • Sean Michael

    Jeez, man. This scared even me.Makes me think of Edgar Allen Poe and his beautifully morbid flair for the grotesque… scratch… scratch.. Cool!

    • johnallenrichter

      Thanks Sean… I’ve heard that comparison before – myself with Poe… Dude was indeed scary. I think his life was probably just as scary as anything he ever wrote. My poetry is more metaphorical than his extremely articulate horror- though yes, I did want to evoke an eerie feel with this one. This poem is about the corporal nature of life, our physical bodies, and why we are here – being tested. Scratching on the coffin lid is our insane desire to stretch out this physical life as long as we can. “Eat this, or don’t eat that. And run 20 miles everyday because it will help you live 27 minutes longer…”

      Morning represents death of course, and it always comes. And I believe it will be as serene as I attempted to make it sound here… Least I hope so, ‘cuz I’m gonna’ keep eating chocolate soufle’s…

Leave a Reply

