Loveless

I searched and searched – never found it there …
Hiding ‘midst my drowning loneliness – despair –
believing not my heart – more that somewhere
lived a part of my soul less burdened – less aware.

And lo – never finding itself within –
lurking deeply – hidden – like sin –
announcing only loves’ absence begins
to darken my souls’ longing – tip to brim.

She filled my empty space a moment or two –
until realizing it wasn’t true – her love –
or attempt to feign that which can not –
nor may ever be manufactured by whim.

Love is like a rose – nature’s surprise –
Which either is – or isn’t.
Pity we who can only see –
but never smell it’s truest beauty –

Or to bloody ourselves upon it’s stem
while others drink its petals’ dew…
If only I could have found that for you….
My dear lost darling, love is but a ruse.

.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a comment