My Legendary Love

That such love could find my path –
that of Delilah, or sweet Abraham’s Sarah –
Or queen of Nile to rest head on breast,
nesting in the sweet softness of her skin –
resting away in her scent of Heaven…
Dreaming of her full lips – so red
and glistening with dew of gods –
sweet nectar that I should long to taste…
and taste….
and taste….

Her vision of curves so enchanting –
her devotion to love so entrenching….
But what means have I –
such mortal man of treasures shy –
to hope for that of legend scape?
Desire she, Penelope – while
Ulysses out to sea –
Battling through axe and heart they –
her suitors of Ithaca plain…

Or should I wait to find dear muses –
Erato, of course my own…
Whispering my ears such beauty –
and breath divine –
that she, and only she,
ever be mine….

Or should it be –
absent that –
my muse of destined tragedy…
Sweet Melpomene to
hold my hand and soul –
yet wrest away my heart….

No, would not to thee be a pleasure born,
nor affinity for your most love adorn –
that your own beauty should sail
through my heart as the swiftest cutter –
its wake drifting apart from tales of old –
swathing our own, new legend of love’s lore!
For never in this world of books and pages –
nor old men’s tales – nor words of maids
has been alive such beauty as yours –
nor such lips that I feel to kiss them forever…
nor such sweet moans that barely escape them…
surely wishing to be inside you until ever as I.
So burn the fables – turn the tables –
Ulysses return to your own home!
For I have found love,
and our story is not yet written……

.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

