Kick the Can

The story goes a little like this
a young man goes out to find his sweet little miss
they fall in love baby, hug and kiss
come around, get married, have a few kids

But did you ever wonder where the time goes
did you ever wonder why we grow old
and were the skies as blue 40 years ago
Honey I don’t know
I just don’t know

Kids grow up, off to school
Momma plays daddy like a stupid fool
Marriage is dead, time is gone
So there you are mister
all alone

Just singing your songs
to all those little ones
Keep playing that hopscotch babies
keep having that fun

You got to play kick the can
as long as you can
’cause time’ll come round real soon
where you got to be a man

And did you ever wonder where the time goes
did you ever wonder why we grow old
and were the skies as blue 40 years ago
I don’t know baby
I just don’t know

.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

6 responses to “Kick the Can

Leave a Reply

