Spirit Free

Never glory -stand before –
timeless hour of bravery.
Men clad not in kings-men clothing,
nor of peasant lore –
but sheathed within freedom’s spirit –
the robe of something more…

My prayers and solemn wishes for those poor souls trapped under the hateful eyes of ISIS, Christian or otherwise.  May God bless you this night and forever. 

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

3 responses to “Spirit Free

  • L Weaves Words

    And I join your wishes, regardless of religion, because what’s happening there (and elsewhere) is (the way I see it) the abuse of religion for the sake of power and control.

    • johnallenrichter

      I just couldn’t agree with that more – though abuse is a mild word for it I think. Desecrating, perhaps, or violating the principles of love that all religions are based on might be my own interpretation… In my personal religion the belief is that the Holy Spirit – which is part of God’s own trinity – guides us in this life. (Though I think that concept is transferred to almost all other religions in that the Creator is a loving god who manifests Himself within each of us.) It’s not something that needs to be learned or studied because He is in our hearts, minds and souls – guiding us each step of our way. And the one thing, the only thing, that could cause us to lose God’s love, that steadfast admiration He holds for us – is to dishonor the Holy Spirit by closing ones heart to Him, refusing to listen, refusing to hear the guidance in love that the Creator put us here to achieve. When we shut out the Holy spirit we lose love, which is the coldest, darkest place imaginable in my meager mind. I know that at some point in the lives of these young, violent, hateful people there was that same love, that same guidance, and yet they discarded it due to the manipulation, the desecration of a religion that was built to honor love. Woe to these men of terror, but more so to those that twisted God’s love, through religion, to trick them into their hatred. Their punishment will be something I would not wish even on them. So while I pray for their victims, I also pray for them.

      • L Weaves Words

        I see where you’re coming from and I know a lot of people of different beliefs will agree with you (including me :-)).
        However ISIS/Daesh (and shall I add what’s happening in Yemen as well?)… some think they are simply psychopaths. And I don’t think psychopaths are born with anything of good to them…

Leave a Reply

