All Of Me

Original song by Gerald Marks and Seymour Simons, 1931
(See Original Lyrics Below)

Sung by Billie Holiday
Sung by Louis Armstrong

My Altered Lyrics to All of Me

Will you still be here
when this song is done
will you still be here
for the morning sun

You say life begins at 40
but nothing ever seems to end
and in the end
you’re never here
you’re never dear

Why don’t you take all of me?
Can’t you see I’m no good without you?
Take my lips, I want to lose them anyway
Take my arms, I’ll never use them another day

You took the part
that once belonged to my heart
So why not take all of me?
Why not take all of me?

You took the best
so please take the rest

Original Lyrics

All of me
Why not take all of me
Can’t you see
I’m no good without you

Take my lips
I want to loose them
Take my arms
I’ll never use them

Your goodbye
Left me with eyes that cry
How can I go on dear without you

You took the part
That once was my heart
So why not take all of me

All of me
Why not take all of me
Can’t you see
I’m no good without you

Take my lips
I want to loose them
Take my arms
I’ll never use them

Your goodbye
Left me with eyes that cry
How can I go on dear without you

You took the best
So why not take the rest
Baby, take all of me

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

2 responses to “All Of Me

  • L Weaves Words

    I don’t think I ever heard this song, and sadly my computer lacks something and won’t play me anything… But both versions read very human and natural. Thanks for the (though written, still – ) introduction πŸ™‚

    It reminds me of a local song, a line of which would translate to something like: “this is how you wanted me, take me, with everything I have”.
    As luck had it, the song was playing when I approached the guy who moments later became my first boyfriend, and I was close enough for him to spread his arms to me and sing with the singer this exact line…
    So thank you also for reminding me of one of the more romantic/happy moments of my life πŸ™‚

    • johnallenrichter

      Thank you so much for stopping by… You’re missing so much without the ability to listen to Billie Holiday sing this song. As for my own version above, you’re probably better off without listening to my “chalk on blackboard” scratches… God has a sense of humor – having given me severe ear problems all my life but also this overwhelming, incessant need to write songs… If you get a chance you should listen to Holiday’s or Armstrong’s version of this song..

Leave a Reply

