Porcupine Days

Porcupine days –
Dog comin’ back –
stuck all through his snout.
I tried to pull it out.
Killed that dog.
Good dog, yeah.
I do not like porcupines.

So, if I was to ask, Lord,
“Why is I here,”
or even better,
“why was Dog here,”
I think I would understand.
‘Cause I loved Dog,
and Dog loved me.

But words won’t work,
they just get jumbled,
yeah, like nothin’ –
if’n I was to ask
“Why is porcupines here?”
‘Cause that don’t make no sense –
I do not like porcupines…

.
..
….
…….
……….
……………
……………………………………..
© 2015 John Allen Richter
………………………………………

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

2 responses to “Porcupine Days

  • Colleen@ LOOSELEAFNOTES

    I don’t think I’ve ever read a poem about a porcupine before and it seems this one isn’t a metaphor! Good to see you’re still online and writing and reciting.

    • johnallenrichter

      Hi Colleen… so nice to hear from you…. hope your world is remaining fun. I need to visit there cause I need a smile these days. I saw a couple of dogs once down in Texas that had come back to their owner after attacking a porcupine. You’ve got to imagine free range country where there is simply nothing for miles in any direction, the nearest vet was 70 miles away. My friend, the owner, had tears in his eyes – wondering what to do. Well one dog died on the way, we figured that was going to happen. The other had two quills from that porcupine stuck through his snout, looked like they had entered below the chin and went clean through the upper nose part. Looked horribly painful. So you are right about it not being a metaphor. But this is a song – sort of – tune in my head. Not a recitation. I just finished the last season of Mad Men on Netflix, if you’re familiar, where Steinberg cut his nipple off to get the computer hum out of his body. My singing is kind-a like that. It’s got to come out regardless that it sounds worse than the howls that I heard come out of that poked dog… 🙂 I guess you’re on your smart phone because I don’t think the audio player comes up on phones. So nice to hear from you…

Leave a Reply

