That’ll Do Pig

One of my favorite lines ever comes from a children’s movie called “Babe,” where a farmer was blessed beyond any account with the most amazing little pig named Babe.  This pig did something so dear to the farmer’s heart that it made the farmer  happier and more proud than he had ever been before in his entire life.  After the pig completed this task the farmer was so overwhelmed that the only words that could come to his otherwise silent world was “That’ll do pig.”

And Babe knew that was the greatest compliment one could ever receive from the farmer.  (Though out of context it would seem a little rude.)

My lovely wife Teresa wrote a poem for me the other day and it got me thinking – how could I – in my weird writing style – give her the greatest compliment I can think of?  It was a no brainer.  I barely remember the world before Teresa and think that I have never been happier. So this is installment one of what I consider the rest of my life:

Against the meadow green stood the bull fervent gray –
Snorting his clouds of puff and doom –
Yet another winter has come to stay
as he assessed his daily gloom…

Slowly he watched the sun go down,
feeling his aged plight.
forgetting dawn would come around,
leaving him forever night.

And so lament became his way,
knowing his mind is set –
expecting nothing from this fray –
that he couldn’t just forget.

For years he tried to make such sense –
but found to no avail –
still stuck in this barbed wire fence,
with his lone struck heart a-wail…

“Why dear God, is this my fate?”
He cried up to the moon.
“That life should begin so late –
with mine but a lonely croon?”

But then sun broke sky on eastern wall,
and suddenly he could see –
that a lovely vision through it all –
had stood by his knee.

“What such loveliness this?”
he asked, with patience in his eyes.
“It is I!” cried dear miss –
to his great surprise!

“But why are you here?”
he asked through his heart…
Not knowing or thinking
they’d ever been apart..

“Why would you stand by me,
with nothing more than what I be?”
She just shook her head and then she said
“Because I love you silly!”

So now the bull can’t remember when
he was ever left alone.
For within her eyes and precious touch
was the true essence of home!

In that pasture through ensuing years,
no matter how small or big –
It could often be heard on quiet nights –
“That’ll do, my little pig!”

I love you Teresa…..

 

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

Leave a Reply

