Puddles Ago

Jumpity Jump!  Slappity Slap!
Yellow coats and rubbers!
Puddle fun has just begun
and my boots are buckle uppers!

Crisp blue lines of a paper boat
listing toward the drain….
A great white sail like a great white whale
under the pouring rain.

A boy at four, a boy at five,
at boy at seventeen….
Puddle fun’s for everyone
Come see what I mean!

Tie your hat strings under your chin,
Raise your feet and splash them down…
Proclaim the world with a great big grin
The King of Seas has just been crowned!

Oh, how she sailed the length of ever
down that distant gutter of my boyhood home.
Never before was a boat so clever
Sailing to where my heart shall always roam…..

For as to second childhood I
Draw gently near,
With happy heart I see the why
Children are dear.

Second Childhood by Robert William Service

© 2012 John Richter

 

About johnallenrichter

I am an aspiring Poet and adorer of life, a conqueror of nothing. However I am a champion curator of truth and friendship and hold both of those things most dearly to my heart. Welcome to my mind's eye. I hope you will enjoy what you may find and please know that you have a friend here. View all posts by johnallenrichter

21 responses to “Puddles Ago

Leave a Reply

